New York: Where Chocolate Dreams Are Made Of

I finally have time for vacation! Despite a whirlwind journey in 7 airports between New York and Toronto in 6 days, I managed to survive with a twisted ankle. However the highlight of my vacation isn’t about airports or my twisted ankle, but the outrageous amount of chocolate/coffee art consumed and experienced! 🙂

Now let’s go into the details of this chocolicious vacation!

I started planning with BuzzFeed’s article “31 delicious things you need to eat in NYC  this Winter” and went along with Chocolate Express. That said, every trip always have some surprise (http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelysanders/nyc-winter-food-tour#.vpPD30BPL)

Stop 1: Maialino’s

IMG_5148 IMG_5149
M
aialino’s, 2 Lexington Ave, Gramercy, Manhattan

http://www.maialinonyc.com

Located inside the Gramercy Park Hotel, Maialino is a cozy Italian restaurant with open bar space and chic vibe compared with other hotels, such as Waldorf Astoria that has much more of a vintage 1960s glam. Since it is inside the hotel, it is best to make a reservation if you want to come for lunch or have a large party. However, I was quickly given a space on the bar table with afternoon menu in hand and had no problems skipping right to the dessert menu.

I ordered the buondi di ciccolato and it was a treat. With a plethora of cocoa favors and rich textures in this flourless chocolate cake with double chocolate pudding and dipped with toffee sauce and cocoa nibs, it was an aphrodisiac blend of chocolate that leaves me wanting more despite however rich it is. (And another yes for those with gluten allergies!) Such sweet tastes are balanced by my latte. Nevertheless, now that I become much pickier with coffee after my barista certification, I was a tad disappointed that the pressed pot La Golodrina coffee (Counter Coffee) was unavailable, and my jetlag meant Farm House decaffeinated isn’t an option. The latte was no surprise as a much needed dose of pick me up caffeine and the beverage to water down the heavy buondi di ciccolato.

Maialino’s a lovely and cozy place with wonderful service with reasonable prices for a hotel restaurant, but if I could devour my chocolate treat in less than 10 minutes, please, please, can you have bigger portions?

IMG_5167 IMG_5168 IMG_5169l

City Bakery, 3 West 18th Street, NY

http://www.thecitybakery.com

When I consulted with my foodie friends in New York about City Bakery, it’s either a love it or hate it response. “If you can take candy bar desserts, then go to it by all means”, or so they said.

City Bakery appears to be a cafe cum cafeteria (no offense) with coffee and sweet treats at the front, and savoury foods at the back counter with a chocolate room of gourmet chocolate to be marveled on the side. When I first walked in, the barista in me was instantly staring at the precious Simonelli coffee machine and this began my bias that it would have amazing, world class coffee. (For those who do not know, Simonelli machines are half automatic and half manual, costs at least CAD $10000 excluding upkeep and we worked with an older version all the time in my barista class).

Then came the distraction of the fudge marshmallow. The latte came as no surprise – it was light, delicate but a powerful dose of caffeine, but marshmallow made the highlight. Once I dipped half a marshmallow in, this wake me up morning beverage transformed into a sweet, sugary delight that calls for me. And even when eaten independently, that soft, sweet after taste of marshmallow still lingers in my mouth.

I would have to agree with the love it or hate it suggestion though – City Bakery is an affordable gem but it depends on how much sweetness you can take in. For me, the fudge marshmallow made my day.

IMG_5193 IMG_5194    IMG_5195

LA Burdick – 5 East 20th Street, New York

http://www.burdickchocolate.com

Situated close to Theodore Roosevelt’s birthplace, LA Burdick is a small shop tucked in with a petite outside table space. The focus isn’t the outside patio, but the chocolate cuteness of its creations. Advertised with a sign emphasizing its snowmen, mice and penguin delicacies, it makes a wonderful gift shop. Chocolate goods are available individually, in packs of 4, 9, 16 as well as in assorted truffles and other types of chocolates wrapped in wrapping paper and tied in wooden boxes. (As if chocolate doesn’t make a wonderful gift!)

While coffees and treats are also available, I see LA Burdick much better as a gift shop than a cafe. Perhaps, because it is too difficult to savour such adorable goodies, or perhaps, their goods just make much better gift ideas and I would still lavish $50 for my stock of gifts.

IMG_5191

Godiva’s

http://www.godiva.com

I admit, Godiva wasn’t on the list but I got distracted by the chefs who spent hours wrapping strawberries into cones and the Godiva paper so I finally succumbed to such temptations. But with the expensive price tag of USD$13, it disappointed my senses. It wasn’t the strawberries, but perhaps the chocolate has endured such freezing winds that it was no longer warm and soft.

The only perk is – free samples on every visit. But my take is, take the chocolates, just don’t order the chocolate cone!

IMG_5178

Mast Brothers Chocolate – 44 Washington Street, Brooklyn, New York

http://www.mastbrothers.com

Mast Brothers was a suggestion of my former coworker who loves chocolate and all things sweet as much as I do. So without further ado, she drove me to Mast Brothers Chocolate so I can experience pure cocoa creations. While we missed the chocolate factory tour (I am so visiting next time!), the selection of exotic chocolate, from sea salt and sheep milk to papua new guinea blend is diverse and beautifully wrapped in patterned paper. Chocolate treats, such as brownies and macaroons are also available in this clean and large factory-cum-shop at really affordable rates ($2-$8). Next time, bring on the chocolate tour!

Leave a comment